By David Hulme, Media Support and Resources Officer D9930
Outgoing District Governor Grant Spackman says the past 12 months have been “a year like no other” for Rotary globally but despite the challenges, District 9930 has had some major successes.
Near the top of the list, he says, was the Faces Project, co-ordinated by Havelock North Rotary Club which received a Global Grant from Rotary International in near-record time, while real progress is also been made on an international project in Nepal and the District is supporting Interplast’s work in Bhutan.
Closer to home, Grant says he found plenty to show Rotary was strong in the grassroots clubs.
“As I have travelled around the clubs in our District, I have experienced the collaboration happening in our communities – Rotary clubs around 9930 are working to make their communities better places to live in,” Grant says.
Projects from Te Awamutu, Napier, Tauranga, Hamilton, Rotorua and Wairoa were all among key events highlighted by Grant in his presentation.
Youth programmes have been a real focus of Rotarians across the District and at the end of the Rotary year, Grant was delighted to announce the imminent charter of the Rotaract Club of Hawkes Bay which will be based at the Eastern Institute of Technology in Napier.
Grant touched on the Centenary of Rotary in Australia and New Zealand in 2021, saying he believed clubs in Australia had, on the whole, responded to the occasion with more enthusiasm than those in New Zealand.
Projects to mark the New Zealand celebrations included two dinner events in Auckland and Wellington, the Mana Tangata history book, and the Trees of Peace and Remembrance project. From our District, Rotary Matamata launched the successful number plates surrounds project as a way of marking the occasion.
But the flagship project to highlight Rotary’s impact is Give Every Child a Future and Grant, along with his wife Wendy, made this their project of choice for the District in the past 12 months.
“Wendy and I have been moved by the generous support given by individual Rotarians and Clubs in District 9930. This major health initiative has caught the imagination of so many, none the least Rotarian Alan White who cycled from Cape Reinga to Bluff raising funds ($20,000) for it,” Grant says.
Grant says it was important, going forward, to address the issue of declining membership. “I am convinced that the best way to increase membership is to form new clubs and I urge you all to look for opportunities to do so in your surrounding towns.
“Whether they be a traditional, satellite, passport of caused-based clubs, we have to find new ways to expand our reach.”
Both Grant and Wendy were awarded Paul Harris Fellowships by new District Governor Ross Pinkham in recognition for all they had achieved for the District in the previous 12 months.
New District Governor Ross Pinkham says he is excited and honoured to be leading the District for the next 12 months.
He followed on from Grant’s comments on membership by highlighting Rotary International President Shekhar Mehta’s desire that each Rotarian brings someone else into contact with Rotary in the coming 12 months – with a catchphrase ‘Each One Bring One.
The international theme “SERVE TO CHANGE LIVES”, Ross says, can be adapted to anything we do as Rotarians within our clubs.
“The catchphrase ‘serve’ relates to those things you do for others and there is no doubt that doing Rotary projects will change the lives of others,” Ross says.
He also highlighted his health challenge to all members – be healthier at the end of the 2021-22 year than you are now.
“We are proud of Rotary, we are proud of being involved, we are proud to say to people that we are Rotarians.
“Rotarians are people of action – we can achieve, we can succeed but most importantly we will be proud to have fun.”
The following Rotarians were recognised for their service to District 9930 –
Retiring Committee Chairs – Mike Smith (Membership), John Pollard (Conference), David Campbell (Foundation), Alan Hitchcock (District Grants), Kevin Forgeson (Rotary Youth Exchange), Richard Cogswell (Rotaract), Seddon Polglase (Rotary National Science and Technology), Stephen Dorrington (Shelterbox).
Retiring Assistant Governors – Ken Smith (Area 1), Evan Cowan (Area 2), Richard Hunt (Area 4), Ron Fyfe (Area 6), Scottie McLeod (Area 8), Ken Haines (Area 10), Ray Kitchen (Area 11), Ian Dykes (Area 12).
Bulletin Award – Rotary Club of Fairfield (editor Mike Cahill)
Communication Award –              WINNER: Rotary Club of Cambridge
                                                            Highly Commended: Rotary Club of Taradale
Membership Development Award – Rotary Club of Te Kuiti          
Outstanding Rotarian of the Year – David Smith (Havelock North)
District 9930 Service Above Self 2021 – Fergus Cumming (Rotorua)